2017 HBCU Awards Finalists

Below is the list of finalists for the seventh annual HBCU Awards ceremony, to be held on July 14 in Washington D.C.’s Gallup Building beginning at 7:00 p.m.
Finalists were selected from more than 175 nominations from HBCUs across the country. Winners will be announced on the evening of the awards, and tickets for the awards and executive media training summit are available here.
Seating for the event is limited.

Awards in Student Activities

Best Marching Band

Talladega College Marching Tornadoes
Alabama State University Mighty Marching Hornets
Prairie View A&M University Marching Storm
Miles College Purple Marching Machine
Tennessee State University Aristocrat of Bands
Southern University Human Jukebox
Best Choir

Morgan State University Choir
Virginia State University Gospel Chorale
North Carolina Central University Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Bethune-Cookman University Concert Chorale

Best Student Government Association

Morehouse College
Prairie View A&M University
Dillard University
Tennessee State University
Jackson State University
Virginia State University
Best Student Organization

Fayetteville State University Student Nurses Association
Oakwood University Honda Campus All-Star Challenge Team
Office of University Engagement and Lifelong Learning – Univ. of Maryland Eastern Shore
Service Spree – Hampton University
Alcorn State Honor Student Organization

Awards in Publications

Best Student Newspaper
The Hilltop – Howard University
Southern Digest – Southern University
Campus Echo – North Carolina Central University
The Maroon Tiger – Morehouse College
Best Alumni Publication
1867 The Magazine – Prairie View A&M University
Alumni Life Magazine -Tennessee State University
NCCU Now – North Carolina Central University
Alcorn: The Magazine – Alcorn State University
Legacy Magazine – The University of the District of Columbia

Awards in Academic Excellence

Best Research Center
Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center
Florida Memorial Department of Communications
Otis Floyd Nursery Research Center – Tennessee State University
Louisiana Cancer Research Consortium (Xavier University of Louisiana)
Clark Atlanta University Center for Cancer Research and Therapeutic Development

Best Fine Arts Program
Alabama State University College of Visual and Performing Arts
Norfolk State University Division of Drama
Hampton University Department of Fine and Performing Arts
Dillard University Theater Program

Best Business Program
Virginia State University
Morgan State University  
Jackson State University
Delaware State University
Best Science, Technology, Engineer and Mathematics (STEM) Program
North Carolina A&T College of Engineering
Florida A&M University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine
Dillard University Department of Physics
Tennessee State University College of Engineering
Best Nursing Program
Fayetteville State University
Lincoln University
Tennessee State University
Southern University

Best Social Work Program
North Carolina Central University
Fayetteville State University
Winston-Salem State University
Morgan State University

Awards in Alumni Activity

Male Alumnus of the Year

Michael Bonner – Elizabeth City State University
Michael Johnson – North Carolina Central University
Faraday Okoro – Howard University
Ibram Kendi – Florida A&M University
Damon Lee – Tennessee State University
Female Alumnus of the Year

Dorothy Perrault- Dillard University
Rep. Alma Adams – North Carolina A&T State University
DeShauna Barner – Virginia State University
Rear Adm. Sylvia Trent-Adams – Hampton University
National Alumni Association of the Year
Southern University Alumni Federation
South Carolina State University National Alumni Association
Florida A&M University National Alumni Association
Morehouse College National Alumni Association

Awards in Athletic Excellence

Female Coach of the Year
AnneMarie Gilbert – Virginia Union University
Sheba Harris – Central State University
Vanessa Blair-Lewis – Bethune-Cookman University

Male Coach of the Year
Alan Green – Xavier University of Louisiana
Montez Robinson – Alcorn State University
Mike Newell – Dillard University
Reggie Barlow – Virginia State University
Jerry Mack – North Carolina Central University
David Six – Hampton University
Female Athlete of the Year
Taylor White – Virginia Union University
Shelby Williams – Prairie View A&M University
Malia Tate-DeFreitas – Hampton University
Amber Hughes – Tennessee State University
Ariane Williams – Xavier University of Louisiana
Tia-Adana Belle – Saint Augustine’s University

Male Athlete of the Year
Corlon Knight – Florida Memorial University
Chad Williams – Grambling State University
Tarik Cohen – North Carolina A&T State University
Juan Scott – Central State University
Zach Lofton – Texas Southern University
Lenard Tillery – Southern University

Women’s Team of the Year
Savannah State University Cheerleading
Bowie State University Bowling
Virginia Union University Women’s Basketball
Central State University Women’s Basketball
Xavier University of Louisiana Women’s Tennis
Hampton University Women’s Basketball

Men’s Team of the Year
North Carolina Central University Football
Hampton University Men’s Basketball
Xavier University Men’s Tennis
Saint Augustine’s University Men’s Track and Field
Tuskegee University Football
Grambling State University Football

Awards in Individual Achievement

Female Student of the Year
Jennifer Mullings – Fayetteville State University
Ariel Walker – Alcorn State University
Jeaiza Maria Quiñones – Prairie View A&M University
Cheslea Bosley – Dillard University
Brittney Lamb – Elizabeth City State University
Aria Hill – Hampton University

Male Student of the Year
Lenard Tillery – Southern University
Jonathan Hill – Morehouse College
Perry White – Southern University
Jordyn Hawkins-Ripple – Hampton University
Aliou Diouf – Central State University
Female Faculty Member of the Year
Linda Hayden – Elizabeth City State University
Ann Toler Hilliard – Bowie State University
Anika Simpson – Morgan State University
Tameka Hobbs – Florida Memorial University
Male Faculty Member of the Year
Moustapha Diack – Southern University
Abdalla Darwish – Dillard University
Anthony Stockard – Norfolk State University
Carlos Rodriguez – Delaware State University

Highest Honors

Female President of the Year
Glenda Baskin Glover – Tennessee State University
Roslyn Clark Artis – Florida Memorial University
Cynthia Jackson-Hammond – Central State University
Tashni Dubroy – Shaw University

Male President of the Year

Walter Kimbrough – Dillard University
Michael Sorrell – Paul Quinn College
Harry Williams – Delaware State University
Harold Martin – North Carolina A&T State University
William Harvey – Hampton University
Makola Abdullah – Virginia State University

Historically Black College/University of the Year
Central State University
Paul Quinn College
Tennessee State University
Hampton University
Virginia State University
Shaw University
Florida Memorial University
North Carolina Central University