Bowie State, Johnson C. Smith Capture Men's and Women's CIAA Tournament Titles

Bowie State University and Johnson C. Smith University reigned supreme at the annual men’s and women’s CIAA Basketball Tournaments this week, capturing conference basketball titles and securing berths in the NCAA Division II national postseason playoffs.
BSU captured its second men’s basketball title in the last four years with a 62-54 victory over Fayetteville State University. It is the third tournament championship in the history of the Bulldogs program, who came into the CIAA tournament as the fourth seeded team from the conference’s North division.

Johnson C. Smith, the hometown team of the tournament’s host city captured its first CIAA tournament championship since 2009 with a 68-59 win over Virginia State University.
The Lady Bulls entered as the overall number one seed from the South division and will take a 22-7 overall record into the national women’s tournament.